B Is For Bong in Image’s “The Doomster’s Monolithic Pocket Alphabet,” Coming This November


Reminiscent of the work of Edward Gorey or Tim Burton, this November sees Image release The Doomster’s Monolithic Pocket Alphabet. Written by Theo Prasidis and illustrated by Maarten Donders, the full-color, pocket-sized book is created in the style of Gorey’s small picture books such as “The Gashlycrumb Tinies,” a type of book known as an Abecedarium. These books were made up entirely of words consisting the letters of the alphabet, in order.

The Doomster’s Monolithic Pocket Alphabet takes its inspiration from doom metal, that singularly extreme genre of heavy metal that focuses on slow tempos, guitars tuned as low as possible, and lyrics with as much dread and despair as you can pack in. The genre was basically created by the early work of Black Sabbath before taking on a life of its own across the globe with acts coming from Japan (Flower Travellin’ Band), Italy (Jacula), England (Witchfinder General), Sweden (Candlemass) and the United States (Pentagram).

Creators Prasidis and Donders enthuse, “Watching our beloved genre grow exponentially in popularity over the years, we decided to have a little fun with its clichés and inside jokes. The result is a really special, ultra heavy little book and we cannot wait to show it to the world. November is a time for DOOM!” And how can you not love that, really?

Focusing on the obsessions of doom metal, which includes drugs, the occult, naked nuns, and of course goats, The Doomster’s Monolithic Pocket Alphabet hits stores November 8, 2017.

 

B is For Bong / Written by Theo Presides / Illustrated by Maarten Donders

 


ORIGINAL PRESS RELEASE:

THE DOOMSTER’S MONOLITHIC POCKET ALPHABET
WILL HIT STORES THIS NOVEMBER
Early preview pages revealed

PORTLAND, OR, 08/08/2017 — Image Comics is pleased to announce THE DOOMSTER’S MONOLITHIC POCKET ALPHABET, written by Theo Prasidis and illustrated by Maarten Donders. The 64 page, full-color, pocket-sized, hardcover book puts a cheeky spin on small illustrated books in the vein of Edward Gorey’s The Gashlycrumb Tinies and Tim Burton’s The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and will hit stores this November.

In five decades of wretched existence, doom metal has evolved into a vast orchard of unearthly delights. Bongs, goats, amps and a lot of naked nuns, all collide into this stunningly visualized, whimsical, mature-rated gift book. Explore the genre’s unholy rites with THE DOOMSTER’S MONOLITHIC POCKET ALPHABET, the definitive illustrated lexicon of all things doom. Or be doomed!

“Watching our beloved genre grow exponentially in popularity over the years, we decided to have a little fun with its clichés and inside jokes. The result is a really special, ultra heavy little book and we cannot wait to show it to the world. November is a time for DOOM!” said Prasidis and Donders.

THE DOOMSTER’S MONOLITHIC POCKET ALPHABET (ISBN: 978-1-5343-0595-3) will hit stores on Wednesday, November 8th. The final order cutoff deadline for comics retailers is Monday, October 9th.

It will be available in bookstores on Tuesday, November 14th and can be pre-ordered now on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, IndieBound, and Indigo.

T is For Tempo
Written by Theo Prasidis
Illustrated by Maarten Donders
Image Comics

 


Jeremy Radick

Knight Radick, a shadowy flight into the dangerous world of a man....who does not exist. But he is a comic Book geek, cinephile, robophobe, punctuation enthusiast, social activist, haberdasher, insect taxidermist, crime-fighter, former actor, semi-professional Teddy Roosevelt impersonator and Dad.

More Posts

Follow Me:
TwitterFacebook