Black Mask Studios Previews “Occupy Comics #3,” A History of Nonviolence


Black Mask Studios today releases “Occupy Comics #3,” the finale issue of this very special book.

 Issue #3 features Molly Crabapple, Alan Moore, Joshua Dysart, Kelly Bruce, Caleb Monroe, Theo Ellsworth, Mark L. Miller, Brea Grant & Zane Grant, Jonathan Spies, Jenny Gonzalez-Blitz, Patrick Meaney, Eric Zawadzki, Allen Gladfelter, Salgood Sam, Kevin Colden, Matt Bors, Jerem Morrow, Swifty Lang, Frank Reynoso, Shannon Wheeler, Eric Drooker, and a cover by Charlie Adlard.

Being the anniversary of Martin Luther King Jr’s “I Have A Dream” speech, we thought it would be cool to share a preview of Caleb Monroe’s and Theo Ellsworth’s “A History of Nonviolence,” a historical account of the development of the philosophy of non-violent resistance.


About Occupy Comics

Launched as a Kickstarter shortly after the start of Occupy Wall Street, this star-studded political anthology features Alan Moore (Watchmen, V For Vendetta), David Lloyd V For Vendetta, Aces Weekly), Charlie Adlard (The Walking Dead), Art Spiegelman (Pulitzer-winning Maus), Molly Crabapple (Shell Game), Matt Bors (Pulitzer-nominated political cartoonist), Mike Allred (Madman), Ben Templesmith (30 Days of Night), J.M. DeMatteis (Justice League, Spider-Man), Tyler Crook (Petrograd), Joshua Hale Fialkov (I, Vampire), Joe Infurnari (Mush!), Ales Kot (Wild Children), Dean Haspiel (American Splendor), Douglas Rushkoff (media theorist), Joshua Dysart (Unknown Soldier, Swamp Thing), Matt Miner (Liberator), and the project’s organizational spearhead Matt Pizzolo (Godkiller). After being released digitally to Kickstarter backers throughout the creative period, it is now reaching mass audiences with all profits being donated to Occupy-related initiatives. Pizzolo pointed out Occupy is inspired by “ideas rather than ideology” and this project is intended to reflect the chorus of individual voices that make up the 99% movement.

In 2011, a handful of comics creators were inspired by the events of Occupy Wall Street to create a comic book anthology called Occupy Comics that would serve the dual purpose of creating an artistic time capsule of the goals & themes of the movement while also fundraising for the protesters with all revenues (past hard costs) being donated to various Occupy actions. After a successful Kickstarter campaign that raised nearly 3x its goal and amassed a star-studded roster of over fifty professional creators (including a few legends), organizational spearhead Matt Pizzolo attempted to arrange a distribution deal for Occupy Comics through a traditional comics publisher so the stories could reach broader audiences. Although the project was much-discussed and eagerly anticipated, the fees demanded by publishers seemed excessive and would likely leave little to no profits left for the protesters. So Pizzolo joined with fellow Occupy Comics original member Steve Niles (creator 30 Days of Night) and Occupy Comics Kickstarter-backer Brett Gurewitz (guitarist Bad Religion, founder Epitaph Records) to form a distribution pipeline that could bring Occupy Comics to larger audiences at a lower cost than any of the other publishers were able to offer, thus generating more funds for protesters. Since they had to build a pipeline for Occupy Comics, Pizzolo, Niles, and Gurewitz decided to turn it into a company called Black Mask Studios that could support creators making outsider/transgressive/non-traditional comics. The initial slate of projects set for release in Spring 2013 all feature at least one Occupy Comics contributor: 12 Reasons To Die writers Matthew Rosenberg & Patrick Kindlon, Ballistic artist Darick Robertson, and Liberator writer Matt Miner. With a mandate to find new ways of supporting creators and reaching new audiences, Black Mask is committed to pushing the boundaries of comics.

OccupyComics_CalebMonroe_pg1-600px OccupyComics_CalebMonroe_pg2-600px OccupyComics_CalebMonroe_pg3-600px OccupyComics_CalebMonroe_pg4-600px OccupyComics_CalebMonroe_pg5-600px